Skip to main content

In This Section:

Volume 13, Issue 11
January 12, 2011

In this issue:

TEI teaching workshop set for January 17

Cornell Engineering’s Teaching Excellence Institute 2011 January Teaching Workshop on January 17 will include presentations by Prof. Michael Prince, co-director of the National Effective Teaching Institute with Richard Felder and Rebecca Brent and professor of chemical engineering at Bucknell University.

More information is available online. Please RSVP for to Kathryn Dimiduk for the sessions you would like to attend. Prince's visit and presentations are co-sponsored by the Cornell Center for Teaching Excellence.

Open house on January 20 introduces AV upgrades

Classroom AV upgrades were installed over winter break in 101 Phillips, B17 Upson, and B11 Kimball. An “AV open house” to demonstrate new equipment will be held in these classrooms on January 20 on the following schedule:

  • 11:00–1:00, 101 Phillips
  • 1:30–2:30, B17 Upson
  • 3:00–4:00, B11 Kimball

Faculty may also schedule an appointment for an equipment demonstration. Contact Teaching Excellence Institute Director Kathryn Dimiduk for more information.

Awards and honors in the Engineering community

Prof. Don Bartel, MAE has been chosen to receive the 2011 Alfred Shands Award from the Orthopaedic Research Society. This is the highest award given by the ORS and recognizes Bartel’s 35 years of scientific contributions to orthopaedic and biomechanics research.

Prof. Joe Burns, MAE, was elected for an indefinite term, effective January 1, 2011, to the Celestial Mechanics Institute, an organization that oversees the editorial operation of the journal Celestial Mechanics and Dynamical Astronomy.

Prof. Johannes Gehrke, CS, has received the Humboldt Research Award. The Humboldt is granted in recognition of a researcher's entire achievements to date, whose fundamental discoveries, new theories, or insights have had a significant impact on their own discipline and who are expected to continue producing cutting-edge achievements in the future. Award winners are invited to spend a period of six to twelve months on academic collaboration with specialist colleagues in Germany.

Research by Prof. James Gossett, CEE, and colleagues has been honored by the Strategic Environmental Research and Development Program of the Department of Defense as its Environmental Restoration Project of the Year for 2010. The work, titled "Elucidation of the Mechanisms and Environmental Relevance of cis-Dichloroethene and Vinyl Chloride Biodegradation," was recognized at the annual Partners in Environmental Technology Technical Symposium and Workshop held in Washington on last month.

Asst. Prof. Rowena Lohman, EAS, has received a grant from the NASA New Investigator Program (equivalent of the NSF CAREER award) for $318,000 over 3 years to study subsiding deltas and sea level rise worldwide with space-based geodetic observations. The grant also supports the development of a new undergraduate course aimed at attracting the next generations of scientists who will use data from the diverse range of satellites to be launched by NASA over the next decade.

Last fall Prof. Fred Schneider, CS, was elected a foreign member of Norges Tekniske Vitenskapsakademi, which is Norway's equivalent to the National Academy of Engineering. NTVA has 500 members, of which only 26 are foreign members. Also in December, Schneider lectured at Purdue as part of the 2010 Samuel D. Conte Distinguished Lecture Series; he spoke at the Distinguished Lecturer Series at U Mass Amherst in November.

Prof. Mike Shuler, chair of BME, has been selected to receive the Biomedical Engineering Society's 2011 Robert A. Pritzker Distinguished Lecture Award. The award recognizes "outstanding achievements and leadership in the science and practice of biomedical engineering.” The recipient delivers the plenary lecture at the BMES annual meeting in October, to be held this year in Hartford, CT.

Prof. Eva Tardos, CS, together with David Williamson, ORIE, and other co-authors, won the Glover-Klingman Prize for the best 2009 paper published in the journal Networks, honoring their paper "Approximating the Smallest k-edge Connected Spanning Subgraph by LP-Rounding."

Community mourns the loss of two emeritus professors

The College of Engineering lost two emeritus professors in recent weeks: Professor Boris Batterman, AEP, on December 14, and Professor Jack Oliver, EAS, on January 5. Our deepest condolences to their families and friends. Please use the links to Cornell Chronicle stories (above) to learn more about the lives of these two icons of the Engineering community.

Rent engineering news releases

Submitting announcements to Information Update

Please send your news notes to Announcements will be published no more than twice and should be limited to about a hundred words or less. The next issue of Information Update, published biweekly during the academic year and monthly in the summer, will be July 10, 2013. The deadline for submissions to this next issue is Friday, July 5, 2013 at 5 p.m. Information received after the deadline will be published in a future issue if appropriate.