Skip to main content

In This Section:

Volume 3, Issue 7
November 8, 2000

In this issue:

Two researchers receive early career awards at White House

Two Cornell faculty members were among this year's recipients of the Presidential Early Career Award for Science and Engineering (PECASE), the Office of the White House announced recently.

Edwin C. Kan, assistant professor of electrical and computer engineering, and Greg Morrisett, assistant professor of computer science, were among 60 researchers who received the awards at a ceremony Oct. 24 in the White House Old Executive Building in Washington, D.C. Neal Lane, the president's science adviser, presented the awards.

The PECASE award is the highest honor bestowed by the U.S. government on outstanding scientists and engineers who are in the early stages of establishing their independent research careers. The awards are given to researchers who have received their Ph.D. degrees within the past five years. The Clinton administration established the awards in February 1996 to recognize some of the nation's finest junior scientists and to maintain U.S. leadership across the frontiers of scientific research. (Find more infomation at

Hover named 2000 Weiss Fellow

Prof. Ken Hover, CEE, was among three Cornell faculty members named by President Hunter Rawlings as 2000 Stephen H. Weiss Presidential Fellows, recognizing effective, inspiring and distinguished teaching of undergraduate students.

The awards -- $5,000 for five years for each faculty member -- are named for the emeritus chair of the Cornell Board of Trustees, Stephen H. Weiss '57, who endowed the program. The award recognizes excellence in teaching, advising and outstanding efforts toward instructional improvement and development. The appointed fellows are permitted to hold the title of Weiss fellow simultaneously with any other named professorship. (Read the full story at

Tenure actions

Congratulations to the following faculty members who have been promoted to the rank of Associate Professor with tenure effective November 1:

* Claire Cardie, Computer Science * Sheila S. Hemami, Electrical and Computer Engineering * Kevin T. Kornegay, Electrical and Computer Engineering * Bart Selman, Computer Science * Norman C. Tien, Electrical and Computer Engineering * Lang Tong, Electrical and Computer Engineering * Ramin Zabih, Computer Science

Muckstadt recognized as outstanding alumnus

ORIE's John Muckstadt, the Acheson/Laibe Professor of Business Management and Leadership Studies, received on October 13 an Outstanding Alumni Award from the University of Michigan. These awards are reserved for distinguished alumni who have had continuing impact on their fields.

Lynn named CfE director

The Center for the Environment is pleased to announce that Walter R. Lynn is serving as interim director effective October 1, 2000. Lynn has served as both permanent and interim director of CfE in the past and brings his wealth of experience and proven record of accomplishments to the position. He will remain University Ombudsmen during his term as CfE interim director.

NBTC Technology Platform Series begins

The Nanobiotechnology Center (NBTC) officially kicked off their Technology Platform Series on Tuesday, October 24, 2000.

The Technology Platform Series is divided into three platforms: Molecules, Patterned Surfaces and Devices. Each session, a member from one of the platform groups will give a 20-minute presentation that will prompt a working discussion with the audience. All institutional members of the Nanobiotechnology Center are participating in this series, which will be video- and teleconferenced so members at all locations are involved in the discussions. The schedule for the series can be viewed at:

Submitting announcements to Information Update

Please send your news notes to Announcements will be published no more than twice and should be limited to about a hundred words or less. The next issue of Information Update, published biweekly during the academic year and monthly in the summer, will be July 10, 2013. The deadline for submissions to this next issue is Friday, July 5, 2013 at 5 p.m. Information received after the deadline will be published in a future issue if appropriate.