Skip to main content

In This Section:

Volume 7, Issue 19
May 4, 2005

In this issue:

Faculty and student awards and honors

Jacqueline Cole and Eve Donnelly, both graduate students in Mechanical Engineering, received Selected Professions Fellowships from the American Association of University Women for 2005-2006. Donnelly also received a Young Investigator Award from the National Institutes of Health and the American Society of Bone and Mineral Research for her submission to the NIAMS-ASBMR Scientific Meeting held in Bethesda this month. Her paper, co-authored with MAE Assoc. Prof. Marjolein van der Meulen and others, is "Collagen and mineral content and organization relate to bone nanomechanical properties."

Asst. Prof. Matt DeLisa, CBE, has been named a 2005 Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation Young Investigator for his project entitled: "A New Approach to Synthesis and Folding of Modular Proteins via Ribosome Reprogramming." The Beckman Foundation fosters research in chemistry and the life sciences, and their Beckman Young Investigators Program provides support to the "most promising young faculty members in the early stages of their academic careers in the chemical and life sciences."

Assoc. Prof. Sheila Hemami, ECE, has been named the first recipient of the College of Engineering Faculty Diversity Award. This award is for contributions to climate, retention, and the recruitment of women, minorities, and others who bring diverse elements to the engineering college. Hemami was cited for her energy and dedication as a mentor and role model for women, her NSF grant that enabled workshops and mentoring lunches, her work in Electrical and Computer Engineering, and her efforts in raising awareness of the importance of diversity issues.

Asst. Prof. Yong Joo, CBE, has been named as the recipient of a 2005-2006 DuPont Young Professor Grant for his work on electrospun nanofibrous mats. His project will develop solvent-free processes to create nanofibers directly from the melt and will investigate scaffolding for cell growth to vascular materials.

Prof. Fred Kulhawy, CEE, has recently received two honors: He has been elected an Honorary Member of the American Society of Civil Engineers and he has also been selected as recipient of the 2005 Karl Terazhi Award given by the Geo-Institute of the ASCE for outstanding contributions to knowledge in the fields of soil mechanics, subsurface and earthwork engineering and subsurface and earthwork construction.

Asst. Prof. Francisco Valero-Cuevas, MAE, has received a Humboldt Research Fellowship, which will support an intensive German language course at the Goethe-Institut Munich to begin in September, followed by a 6-month stay at the Max Planck Institute for Brain and Cognitive Sciences in Munich.

Parvathinathan Venkitasubramaniam, Srihari Adireddy, and Prof. Lang Tong, ECE, received the 2005 Leonard G. Abraham Prize from the IEEE Communications Society for their paper "Sensor Networks with Mobile Access: Optimal Random Access and Coding," published in the IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications: Special Issue on Sensor Networks in August 2004. The Abraham Prize is awarded annually to the best original paper published in the IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications. Venkitasubramaniam is currently a grad student in ECE; Adireddy completed his PhD in 2003 and is now employed by Silicon Laboratories in Austin, TX.

Final reminder: Submit awards list to Chronicle

The Cornell Chronicle will publish, in the May 26 edition, the names of students and faculty members who have won Cornell college or academic department awards for the 2004-05 academic year. This is a great opportunity to recognize and honor outstanding faculty and students and to showcase our engineering award winners to the rest of the university.

Individuals who are coordinating the award lists for their departments should submit their materials -- listing the names of the awards, the award winners, and prizes (if applicable) -- to Robin Zifchock, Cornell News Service, 312 College Ave or send e-mail to, by May 9. If you have any questions, please direct them to Robin.

For an example of the kinds of awards to include, check out the Chronicle graduation issues for last year:

Game Design showcase scheduled for next week

The Game Design Initiative at Cornell University will showcase spring semester student work on Wednesday, May 11, 3:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m., in 315-319 Upson. About 80 students from several departments are collaborating this semester on games for CIS 300 and independent studies.

This event is free and open to the campus and community. Visit the project website:

Presnell lectures in statistics seminar

The Department of Statistical Science Statistics Seminars are held weekly on Wednesdays in 406 Malott Hall at 4:00 p.m. Refreshments are served following the seminar in 301 Malott.

May 4: Brett Presnell, University of Florida, "The In-and-Out-of-Sample (IOS) Likelihood Ratio Test for Model Misspecification"

Summer and holiday hours for Mattin's Cafe

Cornell Dining plans the following changes to operating hours at Mattin's Cafe in Duffield Hall to accommodate summer and holiday schedules:

May 6, Slope Day - closing at 2 p.m.
May 30, Memorial Day - closed
July 4, Independence Day - Closed

Beginning May 21, daily hours for the cafe will change to 7 a.m. to 2 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Submitting announcements to Information Update

Please send your news notes to Announcements will be published no more than twice and should be limited to about a hundred words or less. The next issue of Information Update, published biweekly during the academic year and monthly in the summer, will be July 10, 2013. The deadline for submissions to this next issue is Friday, July 5, 2013 at 5 p.m. Information received after the deadline will be published in a future issue if appropriate.