Skip to main content

In This Section:

Volume 9, Issue 20
May 16, 2007

In this issue:

ChemE car team advances to national competition

A team of Chemical Engineering undergraduates representing the student chapter of AIChE placed third at the Regional Championships of the AIChE "Chemical Car" competition that took place on March 31st at Northeastern University. Their innovative fuel cell design will be redesigned before they compete in the national competition at the AIChE annual meeting in Utah in November.

Recent awards and honors in the Engineering community

Two members of the Engineering community, Jon Kleinberg, professor of computer science, and Stephen B. Pope, the Sibley College Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, were among the 203 new fellows elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences for 2007 in honor of their distinguished contributions to their professions.

Assoc. Prof. Antje Baeumner, BEE, was selected this year's winner of the Tau Beta Pi and Cornell Engineering Alumni Association 2007 Excellence in Teaching Award. This award is presented to a faculty member who is elected by engineering students for outstanding performance. The award, which includes a cash prize sponsored by the CEAA, was presented at the annual CEAA conference in April. Baeumner also recentedly received a fellowship from the Alexander von Humbodt Foundation and a Mercator Guest Professorship from the German National Science Foundation.

Susan Daniel and Tobias Hanrath will be joining the CBE faculty in July as assistant professors. Daniel will focus on understanding membrane biophysics, the development of novel biosensors and diagnostic tools, and biomolecular separations in membranes. Hanrath will exploit carrier multiplication processes to create new materials for photovoltaic devices, for example, for use in solar cells and in batteries.

Pei-Yu Liao, 3rd year PhD in CBE, was awarded a Liu Memorial Award and Hsien Wu and Daisy Yen Wu Scholarship for recognition of excellent progress in her program and for high potential for a successful academic career.

Elizabeth Marcil '07 ChE has been awarded a full tuition fellowship from the College of Engineering to complete her M.Eng. program in ChE. The award is one of only three given each year.

Don Murdoch, MS'07 BEE, was selected to receive the BEE Outstanding TA Award.

Asst. Prof. Dave Putnam, BME, was selected by the Controlled Research Society to receive their Young Investigator Award to be presented at the CRS annual meeting on the award July 10.

Prof. Fred Schneider, CS, has been elected to the Computing Research Association's board of directors. The CRA board is a distinguished group of leaders in computing research from academia and industry. The board is elected by CRA's member organizations. Schneider will begin serving a three-year term in July.

Prof. Norm Scott, BEE, has been awarded the CALS nomination to the SUNY Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Faculty Service. He was recognized at the CALS Dean's Awards Reception in the Carrier Ballroom on April 24.

Several BEE students were recognized by the Institute for Biological Engineering: in the IBE BioEthics Essay Contest, Shannon Wheeler '07 won first place and Elana Fisher '07 and Gwen Owens '07 won honorable mention. Jan Ma '07 won the IBE 2007 Poster Competition

Tobias Wheeler, a PhD student working with Asst. Prof. Abe Stroock in CBE, has been awards a Corning Graduate Fellowship in recognition of his research progress. He has succeeded in creating the first synthetic system to move water in the same manner as trees. These artificial trees open new technological opportunities in heat transfer, fuel cell design, and environmental remediation.

Clarification on Perkins award previously announced

Lydia Contreras, 4th year PhD student in CBE, and Dr. LaShanda Korley, postdoctoral associate in CBE, placed third in the 2007 selection of the James A. Perkins Prize for Interracial Understanding and Harmony. Contreras and Korley created a new Graduate Women's Group to "foster a safe and supportive environment in which to address issues pertaining to women in academia and to enhance the quality of life of graduate women within the School of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering." The Perkins Prize (first place) was awarded to Ordinary People, a Cornell student theater group, for its work in challenging bias, including racism, sexism, homophobia and anti-Semitism.

Information Update Summer Schedule

This is the last regular biweekly issue of Info Update for this academic year. The newsletter is published once a month over the summer (June 13, July 11) and will resume a biweekly publishing schedule in mid-August.

Submitting announcements to Information Update

Please send your news notes to Announcements will be published no more than twice and should be limited to about a hundred words or less. The next issue of Information Update, published biweekly during the academic year and monthly in the summer, will be July 10, 2013. The deadline for submissions to this next issue is Friday, July 5, 2013 at 5 p.m. Information received after the deadline will be published in a future issue if appropriate.