Space and Planetary Sciences

Research in space and planetary sciences spans many disciplines and four departments at Cornell. Nine planetary scientists are in the Department of Astronomy while 2 faculty members specializing in planetary geology and geophysics are in the Earth & Atmospheric Sciences (EAS) department. Space scientists (those studying the upper atmosphere and near-space region) are in the EAS and in Electrical & Computer Engineering (ECE) departments. Spacecraft systems engineers are in the Department of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering (MAE).

Research Groups